Two Rotarians in new Maharashtra Assembly

District 3131 has the unique honour of returning not one, but two, legislators into the newly formed Maharashtra Assembly.

IMG-20141028-WA0022Rtn Dattatray (Mama) Bharne from the Rotary Club of Indapur has won the Assembly election from the Indapur constituency on a ticket from the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) by a margin of 14,000 votes. He faced a stiff fight from the earlier MLA—Harshawardhan Patil of Congress.

Dattatray is a B.Com graduate from Indapur. A former President of the Zilla Parishad, he has an excellent record in public service. In Rotary he has taken keen interest in water management projects and worked tirelessly in reaching drinking water to over 9,235 towns and wadis. He was successful in getting Rs 4 crore approved for this task.

DSC_1291Another success story from this election is that of  Rtn Prashant Thakur from the  Rotary Club of Panvel Industrial Town. Thakur, a BJP candidate, secured over 80,000 votes against 67,000 votes got by his opponent. He was a Congress MLA earlier, but resigned from the Congress Party and joined the BJP.

By profession he is a civil engineer; a member of MMRDA (Mumbai Metropolitan Regional ­Development Authority), he has been engaged in ­various capacities with several educational, social and sports organisations.

Rotary News and all Rotarians wish both the newly elected MLAs all success and are optimistic they will further infuse all the values Rotary cherishes into their new roles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

kenslot kenslot kenslot slot thailand kenslot asia99 kenslot pragmatic88 pragmatic88 asia99 slot thailand kenslot kenslot kenslot eslot gb777
Message Us