Incoming RI Presidents Barry Rassin is RI President for 2018–19 and Mark Maloney, President for 2019–20.

RIPE Rassin is a member of RC East Nassau, New Providence, Bahamas. As president, he aims to strengthen Rotary’s public image and maximise its reach through better use of digital tools. “Those who know what good Rotary clubs do will want to be a part of it, and we must find new models for membership that allow all interested in our mission to participate,” he says. He wants to “grow our youth programmes, ­especially ­Rotaract, strengthening their ­transition to Rotary. The Young Professional Rotaract Clubs could evolve into Rotary Clubs.”

RIPE Barry Rassin

Rassin has an MBA in health and hospital administration from the University of Florida and is the first fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives in the Bahamas. He recently retired after 37 years as president of Doctors Hospital Health System, where he continues to serve as an adviser. He is a lifetime member of the American Hospital Association and has served on several boards, including the Quality Council of the Bahamas, Health Education Council and Employer’s Confederation.

A Rotarian since 1980, Rassin has served Rotary as director and is vice chair of The Rotary Foundation Board of Trustees. He was an RI training leader and the aide to Past RI President K R Ravindran. He was honoured with the Service Above Self Award, and other humanitarian awards for leading Rotary’s relief efforts in Haiti after the 2010 earthquake. He and his wife, Esther, are Major Donors and Benefactors of TRF.

Rassin’s nomination follows Sam  Owori’s death in July, just two weeks into his term as Rotary International president-elect.

Mark D Maloney is member of RC Decatur, Alabama, USA. He will be declared the president-nominee on October 1 if no challenging candidates have been suggested.

“The clubs are where Rotary happens,” says Maloney, an attorney. He aims to support and strengthen clubs at the community level, preserve Rotary’s culture as a service-oriented organisation, and test new regional approaches for growth.

“With the eradication of polio, recognition for Rotary will be great and the opportunities will be many. We have the potential to become the global powerhouse for doing good.” He too wants to focus on Rotaract. “Too many good Rotaractors are being lost from Rotary.”

We must find new models for membership that allow all interested in our mission to participate.
Barry Rassin RI President-elect

Maloney is a principal in the law firm of Blackburn, Maloney, and Schuppert LLC, with a focus on taxation, estate planning and agricultural law. He represents large farming operations in the Southeastern and Midwestern United States, and has chaired the American Bar Association’s Committee on Agriculture in the section of taxation. He is a member of the American Bar Association, Alabama State Bar Association and the Alabama Law Institute.

He has been active in Decatur’s religious community, chairing his church’s finance council and a local Catholic school board. He has also served as president of the Community Foundation of Greater Decatur, chair of Morgan County Meals on Wheels and director of the United Way of Morgan County and the Decatur-Morgan County Chamber of Commerce.

Mark Maloney
Mark Maloney

A Rotarian since 1980, Maloney has served as an RI director; trustee and vice chair of TRF; president’s aide; zone coordinator; and a leader on the Future Vision and 2014 ­Sydney Convention Committees. He serves on the Operations Review Committee and has served on the Rotary Peace ­Centres Committee. He has received the Rotary Foundation Citation for Meritorious Service and Distinguished Service Award. Maloney and his wife, Gay, are Paul Harris Fellows, Major Donors and Bequest Society members.

The Nominating Committee members who elected the RIPE and RIPN include Anne L Matthews (chair), RC Columbia East, USA; Ann-Britt Åsebol,
RC Falun-Kopparvågen, Sweden; Örsçelik Balkan, RC Istanbul-Karaköy, Turkey; James Anthony Black, RC Dunoon, Scotland; John T Blount, RC Sebastopol, USA; Frank N Goldberg, RC Omaha-Suburban, USA; Antonio Hallage, RC Curitiba-Leste, Brazil; Jackson S L Hsieh, RC Taipei Sunrise, Taiwan; Holger Knaack, RC Herzogtum Lauenburg-Mölln, Germany; Masahiro Kuroda, RC Hachinohe South, Japan; Larry A Lunsford, RC Kansas City-Plaza, USA; P T Prabhakar, RC Madras Central, India; M K Panduranga Setty, RC Bangalore, India; Andy Smallwood, RC Gulfway-Hobby Airport (Houston), USA; Norbert Turco, RC ­Ajaccio, France; Yoshimasa Watanabe, RC Kojima, Japan; and Sangkoo Yun, RC Sae Hanyang, Korea.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

kenslot kenslot kenslot slot thailand kenslot asia99 kenslot pragmatic88 pragmatic88 asia99 slot thailand kenslot kenslot kenslot eslot gb777
Message Us